AULIYA OF ONE ANOTHER

AULIYA OF ONE ANOTHER

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

So my two youngest had Back to School Night, it was wonderful to see the parents come in and get involved with their children’s education. It was awesome to have the sisters come over to me for questions and to give the Salaams. It brings me joy to have the children come over because while my hijab offers a protection to me it always offers comfort to Muslim children. While there were some I had never seen, it was quite clear they had seem me. They had gone home and told their parents about Chaston and Charsons mom that is in hijab. I love it, again!!! I smiled (to myself) at the different reactions from the Muslim fathers. There is the one whom speaks to me through his children out of respect. I was told that he sees that I am modest in my attire so he automatically addresses my modesty by not addressing me. I love it!!! Then there was the Brother that comes in the building, sees my face and knows to walk straight to the table I’m helping with. His intentions are not to be disrespectful but only to go to where he knows he will be sincerely helped with his questions as well as any additional information that may be beneficial to his family.

We need to make sure we are getting involved in our communities (things we need to work on in the community) raising funds for teaching, children’s events, building or repairing a Masjid and Islamic Schools. We need to make sure we stay involved in our children’s educations. Not every child can be home-schooled. There are parents that work and aren’t able to volunteer as much as they would like to or at all. This is where you get to know the mom or dad that visits school quite often. Ask them to keep you reminded of any events that will take place after work hours. I’ve seen where it is easy to overlook or misplace the school newsletter. A simple email or call from a friend is always helpful and welcomed.

And spend in the Cause of Allah (i.e. Jihad of all kinds and do not throw yourselves into destruction (by not spending your wealth in the Cause of Allah), and do god. Truly, Allah loves Al-Muhsinun (the good-doers).-[Quran 2:195]

Helping each other can give such a good feeling to all parties involved. This is where we have to be willing to lend a hand as well as take help, when offered.  Sometimes we have things to offer that we aren’t even aware of. We have talents or blessings that we see as everyday same ole us.  Someone else recognizes that talent or blessing.  It goes with the old aphorism, “One man’s junk/trash is another man’s treasure”

The believers, men and women, are Auliya’ (helpers, supporters, friends, protectors) of one another; they enjoin (on the people) Al-Ma’ ruf (i.e. Islamic Monotheism and all that Islam orders one to do), and forbid (people) from Al-Munkar; they perform As-Salat, and give the Aakat, and obey Allah and His Messenger. Allah will have His Mercy on them. Surely, Allah is All-Mighty, All-Wise. –[Quran 9:71]

This is also for the Brothers and Sister that may not have children. Go to your Masjid or local school and ask about how you can volunteer. I recently met a mother that didn’t drive. She would like for me to help with making sure her son gets involved in a sport. There may be a neighbor or a relative that needs a big brother or big sister for their child. This need may be to keep behavior from getting out of control or just to have someone to talk to.

And (remember) when We took a covenant from the Children of Israel, (saying): Worship none but Allah (alone) and be dutiful and good to parents, and to kindred, and to orphans and Al-Masakin (the poor), and speak good to people [i.e. enjoin righteousness and forbid evil, and say the truth about Muhammad (SAW)], and perform As-Salat (Iqamat-as-Salat), and give Zakat. –[Quran 2:83]

Find out if there is a need for tutoring. This is another way of encouraging our children to stay involved with reading the Quran. Because we all know not to forget Islam while pushing forward with academics. Set-up weekly/bi-weekly/monthly meetings to discuss what the children have learned in school as well as on Islam. Talk about what math facts they memorized and what they memorized from the Quran. Have them use journals to keep track of the things they wish to discuss between meetings.

Allah has sent down the Best Statement, a Book (this Qur’an), its parts resembling each other (in goodness and truth (and) oft-repeated. The skins of those who fear their Lord shiver from it) when they recite it or hear it). Then their skin and their heart soften to the remembrance of Allah. That is the Guidance of Allah. He guides therewith whom He wills; and whomever Allah sends astray, for him there is no guide. –[Quran 39:23]

C’mon Brothers and Sister, I challenge you to reach out and help someone. If I were a betting woman…I would bet you come out of it with a good feeling.

WA SALAAM

“Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raje oon .Allahummajalni farajawn wa makhrajan war zuqni khaira min haiso ahtasibo wa min haiso la ahtasib, be haqqe Mohammadin wa ale mohammad”

..Let my affairs be free from care & make them profitable & give me means of livelihood from my share & from where I have no expectation…

Leave a Reply

